Latest News

August 15, 2013

“The new Intercollege Master of Professional Studies in Renewable Energy and Sustainability Systems (iMPS-RESS) is designed to prepare professionals to lead the world’s transformation from an unsustainable, fossil energy economy to a renewable, sustainable basis of operation,” said Ali Demirci, professor of agricultural and biological engineering and iMPS-RESS academic program chair.

June 25, 2013

Case New Holland is a global competitor in agricultural and construction machinery development and manufacturing.

June 20, 2013

At this year's Northeast Agricultural and Biological Engineering Conference, which took place on June 17-18th in Altoona, PA, ABE students win awards.

2013 Pullers Team
June 5, 2013

2013 International Quarter Scale Tractor Competition, organized and sponsored by ASABE, was held in Peoria, IL from May 30th to June 2nd, 2013.

May 30, 2013

ASABE defines a Fellow as a member of unusual professional distinction, with outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in, or related to, the field of agricultural, food, or biological systems engineering. They possess a minimum of 20 years of active practice in, or related to, the profession of engineering; the teaching of engineering; or the teaching of an engineering-related curriculum and a minimum of 20 years as an active Member-Engineer or Member in ASABE. This is ASABE's highest honor.

May 16, 2013

Heidi Musshafen, a beloved heroine of Ag Sciences and the 2013 Ag Woman of the Year. Read on as she shares some valuable experiences, goals, and advice.

A purified microbial cellulose sample being prepared for examiniation in a study at Penn State that is attempting to determine the full potential of plant use in biofuels. Jeff Catchmark in lab conducting biofuel study. Image: Patrick Mansell
April 29, 2013

Changing the way a plant forms cellulose may lead to more efficient, less expensive biofuel production, according to Penn State engineers. "What every biofuel manufacturer wants to do is to get to the sugars," said Jeffrey Catchmark, associate professor of agricultural and biological engineering.

Harvey Manbeck, distinguished professor emeritus of agricultural engineering, demonstrates the use of a hand-held monitor that can detect deadly hydrogen sulfide gas in manure-storage facilities. Image: Penn State
April 22, 2013

Harvey Manbeck, distinguished professor emeritus of agricultural engineering, and Dennis Murphy, distinguished professor of agricultural safety and health are featured in Penn State news.

April 17, 2013

Three Penn State engineering faculty members have been named winners of the National Science Foundation (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award.

April 8, 2013

The Melvin R. Lohmann Medal was established in 1991 to recognize graduates of the Oklahoma State University College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology who have made outstanding contributions to the profession or education of engineers, architects or technologists. The medal is named after Dr. Melvin R. Lohmann, former dean (1955-77), who led the college to national prominence.

March 28, 2013

The Industrial and Professional Advisory Council (IPAC) is a select group of representatives from industry, government agencies, academia, who advise the College of Engineering on academic issues and on current trends and future directions in engineering.

March 11, 2013

Researchers involved in the project range from plant and forest scientists to agricultural engineers and economists.

February 27, 2013

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Two students in Penn State's College of Agricultural Sciences will be recognized by the college this spring for their experiences in the Critical Language Scholarship Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of State.

February 25, 2013

A donation of machines from a major farm-equipment manufacturer will enhance hands-on learning for Penn State students in the colleges of Agricultural Sciences and Engineering.

January 28, 2013

At Penn State's College of Agricultural Sciences, we utilize this award to recognize outstanding teachers in the College of Agricultural Sciences early in their teaching career.